Chalkboard Cards

photo-63

Wow, I am loving this chalkboard technique!

Close To My Heart’s March Stamp of the Month, “Home Sweet Home” is tailor made for chalkboard cards and I couldn’t help but try my hand at one.  I used the black and white For Always papers, with a pop of Ruby Red in the matt for the card on the above.   Other stamp sets I used include: D1377 Around the Block, D1542 For a Friend, D1506 Family Love and S1207 Live Out Loud.

After wiping the black cardstock with “cornstarch-in-a-baby-sock” (home-made embossing buddy), I positioned all the stamp images on a 4″x6″  block until I had them in the pattern I wanted. I stamped them all together with Versamark and used white embossing powder.  Leaving all the stamps in their same position on the block, I inked them up with white pigment ink and overstamped them onto the black cardstock, shifting them slightly to give a shadow effect. Then I traced an outline around the words using a white watercolor pencil. Finally I smudged a bit of white pigment ink onto the card at various spots using a kleenex to give a “chalk dust” impression to the card.

photo-62

The chalkboard card above is a birthday card, made with the Chantilly paper and stamp images from: D1547 For Always, D1475 Card Chatter Birthday, C1474 Ten Things and B1332 Good Times. I used a similar technique, adding in additional colored lines and filling in the font on “Congrats” with pink watercolor pencil.

I love the way the both turned out and can’t wait to try a few more cards like them.

For those of you signed up for my Chantilly Cards class on March 7th or the For Always Card class in April, I’ll have materials on hand for making these chalkboard cards as a bonus in addition to the 15 card class cards.  So, if you want to try your hand at experimenting with the chalkboard technique, come and join us!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Elegant Birthday Cards | Scrips and Scraps Blog

Leave a Reply

How to contact me:

1-571-276-5405
Mariefarson@juno.com

Blog Stats

  • 12,483 hits
